A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the contemporary days, it is commonly believed that moral characteristics such as honour, kindness and trust have become less essential since people are judged based on their social strata and possessions. While I agree with the latter notion, I do not think that moral values are any less important because they distinguish each individual and contribute to more prosperous companies. To commence with, it is undeniable that social status and properties are widely considered a person ’s worth reference. The evidence for this is the disparity in how different people of different social classes are treated when using public service. A person with high social status is usually prioritized and treated with the utmost respect and appreciation. In contrast, a person of a lower class would likely be left out and neglected even if they pay the same price. To illustrate, in many cultures, low-income people are not welcomed and served in some high-class restaurants or shopping stores. That said, it is completely wrong to assume that morals like honour, kindness and trust are of less importance. In fact, these characteristics have been more valued by people and companies in the modern world, since they differentiate a worthy and a useless person and are the key to the corporation’s success. This is because a competent staff with good moral qualities like honour and kindness could be more likely to make progress and bring the company to great achievements while dishonest and selfish people tend to exploit the company’s resources for personal gains. For that reason, many employees for large corporations in Vietnam like Vingroup, for instance, are required to finish a moral test before being accepted into the company and given a job. In conclusion, whilst people today mostly estimate others according to their places in society and how much they own, traditional figures are still highly regarded since they indicate the morality of a person and account for the future flourishment of an organization.