Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is very common these days that most people to share their private information with technology corporations in return to get access to the software. I think that there are more benefits to this tendency than its demerits. This essay will discuss how software can make work-related documentation, communication, and shopping easier, and can be misused for identity theft and online payment. These days most people pay online for entertainment-related services provided on Web, which are not secured, and they keep saving their personal information, like credit card details, to make transactions quicker. Many tech companies are designed to target such data that can be used to make short-term profits. They use such details to pay online. Another major disadvantage is identity theft, which can be done by using full name, DOB, address and phone number. In the last five years in Canada, many people become a victim of scammers who used to steal their identity to issue credit cards to others' names. However, there are many merits of using software in exchange for sharing private details which can be kept highly secure by tech companies. The majority of online payment platforms are extremely secure and guaranteed to proceed with the transaction. This has convinced most people to buy software that they need to use for their personal or professional life. For example, Adobe and MS Office are used by millions of registered professionals who shared all their personal data to get access to such software to do work-related communication and documentation. Apart from this, the biggest benefit is buying online from an E-commerce giant, like Amazon, to get hassle-free delivery within 2 days. This and there are thousands of other platforms where user information remained secure. In conclusion, although there are chances of being a victim of scammers by sharing personal data with others to use their software, I believe that this trend has more benefits including online shopping and work-related important communication and documentation.