In modern society, it is possible to go shopping, work, and accommodate via the Internet without face-to-face contact with one another. To what extent do you think this is a positive or negative development.

The population who conduct their daily tasks on the internet is growing in size, from online shopping to remote working and studying, the advanced technologies even make it possible for patients to see their doctors in the virtual world. Despite various merits derived from such phenomena, I could partially see such changes as a positive development due to the hazards which cause financial loss, along with physical harm in human societies. To begin with, employees and students benefit from working and studying from home since they are able to save commuting time for better usage. Furthermore, companies and educational institutions could gain advantages with lower environmental maintenance fees. That is why a growing number of companies tend to provide more job positions for long-distance work. On top of that, spending money could never be easier with the help of advanced technology, consumers are able to satisfy their needs for products and services without leaving their rooms. For example, people who love reading now could download digital books on the internet instead of waiting for days for the printed books to arrive. However, people should not overlook the negative effects on health caused by long screen time, including obesity and eye problems. Take Taiwan as an example, a statistic conducted a few years ago show a surge of young individuals who suffer from being overweight, which could lead to various illness such as diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Moreover, the cases of cyber scams are on the rise while more and more users choose to make online payments, which makes victims endure great financial loss. For, instance, one pensioner in Singapore lost all his savings by providing his personal details to criminals. To summarise, it is inevitable that the number of users in the virtual world will continuously grow based on its positive effects, reversely, it provokes many drawbacks to health and financial aspects. Therefore, I could partially agree that such changes are a positive development.