Nowadays many people prefer to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the past, price and quality were the most important criterion when purchasing products. By contrast, today, people give higher value to brand awareness in choosing clothing, gadgets, and other goods. In my opinion, this trend raises a wide range of problems and does more harm to society than good. The main reason for the emergence of this culture in consumer society is the increased demand for a sense of belonging. With the advancement of social media, people today witness famous individuals using luxury goods more regularly. As a result, this encourages fans to imitate those clothing habits and purchase items of the same brands. As a consequence, people unconsciously spend significant amounts of money on unnecessary items or pay extra costs for the brand. For example, people who follow famous brands may purchase a coat for double the price of a coat produced by a less-known brand but has the same quality. Another actor who suffers from this trend is new businesses, which do not have a large customer base. Prominent companies give no chance to emerging startups with their overly advertised and well-known goods. Moreover, big businesses are known for quickly copying innovative products from their new counterparts and using their brand strength to break their competitors' sales. Discouraged by constant pressure, many new brands inevitably close down their businesses. In a nutshell, many people today blindly follow popular brands, convinced that brand awareness is the guarantee of quality. However, I would argue that if new promising startups are also given preference, it will be more beneficial to society.