Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

With the fast development of social media, many kids tend to spend more time using their smartphones every day to stay in touch with what happened at the moment in the world. Personally, I think this is definitely a negative advancement. One underlying cause behind the above-mentioned phenomenon might be parental neglect of young charges. Middle-aged people face a lot of pressure both from work and their family nowadays, thereby many parents tend to spend less time communicating with their children. Without enough interactions in the family, children may choose to talk to friends or total strangers online, which causes them to use many electronic devices. In addition, things on the internet nowadays become more and more attractive to all individuals, therefore, teenagers are attracted by phone games, short videos, and so on. To be more specific, kids may find how interesting the virtual world is and spend more hours on it. The solutions to this issue could be diverse. Firstly, parents should attach significance to youngsters’ growth and strike a balance between their work and children. They need to spend more time interacting with their children to show how the real world can also bring happiness to them. Besides, parents and schools should teach children the importance of doing exercise and the danger of keeping their eyes on small electronic screens all day. Parents can take their children to go out to see the natural view and breathe the fresh air and schools can hold courses about health and encourage kids to live a healthier life. To conclude, two factors contribute to the surge of time spent on cell phones by youngsters. I am convinced that the measures including high-quality parental education and introducing feasible courses would constitute a crucial step in resolving this problem.