The advantages brought by the spread of English as a global language will outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

The increment use of English day by day as an international language has brought many merits and demerits. I strongly agree with the statement that this trend has more benefits than its drawbacks. In this essay, I will explain how global business, international travelling and migration have become possible and how the vernacular languages and local cultures are being affected. The everyday use of the English language has affected the significance of the local language and its learning. It has also convinced most people to learn English first since their mother language is less practised than English. Therefore, there is a rapid extinction of the local languages in most developing and underdeveloped countries. Another primary reason is that the local cultures and traditions are inclined downward because the language is attached to the culture. For example, the extreme spread of English in southern India has diminished many local customs and rituals. However, such issues cannot prevent us from growing with the world. There are many benefits offered by the use of the English language internationally. One of them is that many global companies have established their offices in almost all developing nations, which increases the employment rate as well as the economic growth of the country. Moreover, travelling has become significantly more accessible because of a common language, followed by millions of people migrating every year from underprivileged nations to developed countries. This trend has not only helped massive masses to survive but also under-developed countries to grow. Recently, thousands of Afghanis, for example, migrated to Canada to survive because of the War. It also helps the host nations as they get massive labour. In conclusion, despite the extinction of the local languages and culture, the spread of the English language has offered us more advantages, including the migration of people and the expansion of global travelling and businesses.