In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

The longevity of people is much longer than a few decades ago. Some individuals argue that many governments struggle with the issues created by the old, whereas others believe that the potential benefits of having elderly people can not be undermined. This essay will discuss both sides in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, governments allocate a significant amount of their budgets to healthcare services which prevents them from financializing other sectors. It is the priority of governments to take care of their citizens, especially after a certain point. Therefore, experiencing the continuous growth of the ageing population would be financially challenging. For instance, according to the latest statistics in the United States, the country invests much more money in Medicare services, which is a program specifically designed to provide health insurance to people over 65. Moreover, experts have identified that this situation makes the government of the US much weaker in terms of military, education, and as well as manufacturing industries, due to less financial attention to these fields. On the other hand, old people have much more experience as they go through different challenges throughout their lives. Firstly, the advice that mature people give youngsters can have a strong impact on both personal and professional settings. For example, many international companies prioritize the training given by old workers as they are much more experienced. Furthermore, it is believed that directing young employees would make them informative workers who are better equipped to adapt to the changing business environment. In conclusion, affording the needs of the ageing population may cause financial strain for governments, but the advantages of having them can not be ignored. Their life experiences would be a perfect lesson for youth who attempt to begin their career paths.