In some parts of the world people try to find out one's own family history. Why do people do this? Do you think it is a positive or negative?

There is high demand for tracing back the history of their families in certain regions nowadays, especially in nations which consist of a great number of immigrants, whose descendants are now looking for their roots, with the help of advanced technology. Since there are pros and cons derived from such activities, I could partially see it as a positive trend. To begin with, it was hard for ancestors to go back to their hometown after relocating to other nations, either due to war or to seek new opportunities to reverse their life. The younger generation in modern days is in favour of filling up that missing part of their family histories to know more about their own culture. Take Australia as an example, many ancestors of residents nowadays are moved from the UK and never had a chance to return to their home during their whole life. Thanks to the searchers who upload all correlative detail from the pass into the computer, which allows residents in Australia to find more detail about their families with some keywords, such as their family name or the date their great-grandfather arrived. However, there are some downside for the younger generation to learn too much about the past of their families since the acquisition of information are not always good news but some could embarrass the family. Some of them might have a hard time finding out that their family members were criminals. To summarise, modern technology enables one to fill up the blank in family histories, however, those actions could be counterproductive for those who wish for a fair story. Therefore, I could not take such phenomena as a positive development.