In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Highlighting new features of products through advertising has become highly effective among businesses. I strongly believe that this trend has a positive impact because sales will increase. Firstly, promoting products with interesting innovations attracts more audience. Moreover, even though other competitors can copy the new releases, the first company to create the feature will always be the most recognized for it. First and foremost, the profitability of companies will grow by working on marketing strategies to reach consumers’ attention through new features on their products. Further, having contact with something new can trigger people’s desire to acquire it. For example, Polishop, which is a known company worldwide, had created a portable oven named “AirFryer” and this invention made them reach the highest rate of sales in 10 years. To summarize, advertising the newest features of products is a positive development for business, however, there are a few negative aspects that companies should be careful. Having said that, when innovation is highlighted on media vehicles, competitors will be capable of copying these ideas and implementing them on their own products. Competition for consumers’ attraction in big corporations has never been tighter, so when something different is released, everyone will try to take advantage of it. For instance, I remember that in the past only Apple used to offer touchscreen devices, which have been sold by all technology developers currently. However, if Apple had not developed the touchscreen in the first place, it would not have become the most famous company in the world. In conclusion, advertising new features is the greatest strategy to increase sales of a company. Even though many are afraid to have their newest ideas stolen, this trend represents a positive development as the first company to create something will be forever remembered.