In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing, and their level of health and fitness is decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

People in many countries are facing average weight gain and declining health and fitness level. The main reasons for this happening are due to lack of time for cooking and physical activities and there are corrective measures the government body can take to promote a healthy lifestyle. People these days are struggling to meet expectations for their personal life and career. Consequently, they have very little time for cooking for their family and depend on instant meals and restaurant foods. As readymade meals contain preservatives and additives, it’s very detrimental to our health. Similarly, most restaurant foods are not catered for our liking and the cook probably uses substandard oil, lots of sodium, and MSG. Lots of health surveys prove that people who eat outside and instant meals tend to have health issues such as obesity, heart disease and diabetes more than those who aren’t. Also, most people don’t have enough time to do physical workouts and their day is occupied with their careers and daily commuting to and from work. Government can do many things to promote a healthy living style for its citizen. For example, they can impose a heavier tax on instant and readymade foods to discourage people from overconsuming and do healthy eating awareness campaigns through social media platforms. Also, health authorities should provide guidelines on cleanliness and healthy meals and closely monitor their meals to make sure the ingredients are up to standard. For physical activities, local authorities and town councils should provide public spaces for exercising and walking and encourage residents to participate in sports activities. To conclude, unhealthy eating styles and lack of physical activities contribute to average weight gain and the government can take a few steps to promote a healthy living style that led to a happy and healthy life for its citizen.