The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause? What are some solutions to these problems?

These days, the number of private vehicles has gone up at an accelerating rate, becoming extremely harmful for both the environment and individuals. Although the solution for the elimination of such detrimental consequences is far less clear-cut, several steps can be made to diminish these negative effects. To begin with, vehicle emissions are a major air pollution contributor. Burning gasoline, cars produce exhaust fumes that, in turn, provoke health problems and facilitate the ozone layer destruction. For instance, a recent study by the University of Toronto has provided scientific evidence that roughly 95 per cent of all carbon dioxide emissions in cities are caused by cars. Additionally, not only do vehicles emit toxic fumes, but they also cause accidents and congestion. This is mainly due to the intensive use of automobiles, and the situation aggravates especially during rush hours. However, there are some steps that might be taken to mitigate these problems. The first solution to consider is alternative means of transportation and fuel, namely biofuel or electricity-driven cars. Both options are examples of renewable energy and do not contribute to the greenhouse effect and climate change. Furthermore, restriction traffic in the city centres could alleviate risks from its chaotic nature. For instance, the traffic flow might be diminished by posing additional fees on parking that would encourage people to use public transport or alternative vehicles such as bicycles. To conclude, various measures can be taken in order to offset the negative effects of the increasing usage of automobiles. It is crucial that the problems are tackled to reverse the worst impact on ecology, considering alternative transport instead.