You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this . You should write at least 250 words.

Travel has become very popular these days among people of all age groups. It is not only a way to explore new places and reduce stress but also to meet new people, make friends and get to know new cultures. There are many nations these days that encourage their new generations to travel or work before they commence their higher studies. While some people fear that this could negatively impact their careers, I strongly believe that travelling is very important in many ways and can be useful in learning many lessons in life that books might not be able to teach. To start with, students feel that travelling for a longer period of time is a bad idea because of several reasons. They think that the gap year or two will reflect badly on their education documents and they might not be able to enrol in the university of their choice. Moreover, many of the students also prepare for various entrance exams and don't want to take a break as they might lose their rank for a particular university. Hence, they start their studies right away. However, immediately starting college without a vacation can lead to a stressful college life as the schedule gets more intense as they pursue higher studies. Also, cramming up books usually does not bestow them with practical knowledge of the world. On the contrary, the positive impact of travelling should not be underestimated. As people travel internationally, they communicate with people from different cultures and backgrounds. This gives them a lot of exposure that was not possible in their home country. This makes them aware of what is happening around the world. Moreover, all these experiences give them different perspectives and opinions which eventually boosts their confidence. Secondly, they also learn to plan their travels, manage their finances and learn how to manage their time efficiently. Furthermore, if students fear gap years, they can even opt for small-scale jobs for a short period of time. This not only will teach them a new skill but also will help them to have some extra money on hand. In conclusion, I advocate the fact that travelling or working not only helps in mental and practical development but also familiarises young people with the reality of the world. It helps them to gain more knowledge and self-confidence as they deal with many situations alone. Hence, they should be encouraged to travel or work before they pursue further studies.