When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centres. Do you agree or disagree?

No doubt, various facilities are planned by the administration keeping into consideration the effective utilization of leisure time of the dwellers. However, it is often put forward that sports centres and parks should be given more importance than the multiplexes. I completely withstand this viewpoint and the ideas surrounding my opinion shall be presented in the upcoming segments. To begin, the most convincing argument in favour of establishing parks and sports facilities is the general well-being of the masses. Needless to say, a vast majority lead a sedentary lifestyle these days. The culprit behind this is not just their busy routine but the lack of open areas like parks and gardens where they could spend some time inhaling fresh air, taking a walk or doing some light exercises in order to stay physically and mentally. In contrast, the encapsulated surrounding and hustle and bustle of shopping centres is not conducive to their holistic health. For example, in most modern cities like Gurugram, and Bangalore; the frequent visit of residents to malls than public parks and playgrounds is having a detrimental impact on their health. Yet another fact is that shopping centres generally attract the grown-ups who tend to spend their time going shopping, watching a movie in Cineplex, sitting in a bar and other, contrary to it, the sports centres and parks attract youngsters and seniors. These age groups find being at malls an expensive affair. For instance, spending an hour at a gaming parlour easily costs around Rs. 1000 in my country which only the affluent can afford, while old people do not find anything of interest at these establishments. Understandably, to enjoy recreational activities, the availability of public facilities like gardens and sports grounds is more desirable than shopping complexes. To conclude, I would like to rewrite, although with changing times city planners have started to give priority to shopping centres for recreation yet these must not replace the open and public places that are indispensable to the general well-being of the masses.