Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The ways of making more people recycle is a topic of ongoing debate, with some arguing that the best approach is to legislate laws, while I firmly believe that more effective ways are existing, besides legal requirements. On the one hand, with laws, people are likely to follow them because they do not want to receive financial penalties. Moreover, regulating by laws makes people change their perspectives about recycling from a hassle to a must thing, with more citizens performing that behaviour. To exemplify this, a study has shown that a group which received fines when violating the strict rules reported fewer behaviours related to the rules. This demonstrates that laws will play a key role in encouraging people to recycle their waste, decreasing the amount of domestic litter. Nevertheless, while the effectiveness of laws is undeniable, they are not sufficient to serve the purpose. This is because some people are willing to bear punishments after noncompliance, thinking that not following legal requirements is more convenient. In addition, some do not know well how to recycle their garbage. Thus, providing programs and education should be taken precedence, which will facilitate the effectiveness of laws. For example, after the administration in Gwangmyeong, which is one of the cities in Korea, released a video about the method of recycling and the necessity of it, an increasing number of residents recycled their waste rather than threw them away. In conclusion, it is evident that laws are able to control the amount of thrown wastes by making people recycle. Even so, they are not the only way to this purpose. Instead, educating people on recycling with videos and other materials will make legal requirements more useful to achieve their aim.