In some societies, more and more people are deciding to live alone. Why do you think this is? Do the advantages of living alone outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, a growing number of people are choosing to live on their own. There seem to be two main incentives for taking this decision, and the benefits of living alone far outweigh any potential drawbacks. The growing popularity of living alone can be explained in two ways. Firstly, when a person decides to live on their own, it gives them more freedom to enjoy themselves to the fullest. This would not be possible while sharing accommodation with other people, as there will always be a need to take into account their preferences, such as where to place the TV, which channel to watch, and so forth. Another reason why people are choosing to live by themselves has to do with striving for independence. This is especially true with teenagers and young adults who want to move away from their families as soon as possible. For them, this decision marks the beginning of a new chapter in their lives (i.e. adulthood), while staying with parents might mean they are not fully grown up yet, hence the decision to move out. While living alone can have certain disadvantages, such as lack of immediate support from family or feelings of social isolation, the potential benefits of this lifestyle are more significant. People who live by themselves can develop many positive qualities, including responsibility and self-reliance, as they have to manage their daily tasks without anyone else’s support. More importantly, for the reasons mentioned in the previous paragraph, perhaps the biggest advantage of living independently is linked to a generally more fulfilling life. If sharing accommodation with others, whether family or friends, is too restrictive for certain individuals and makes them miserable, it is only logical for them to leave their nest and try living solo. Sometimes, more freedom to live as you please is all it takes for a person to experience true happiness. To conclude, the growing trend of living separately from friends and family is fueled by people ’s need for greater freedom and independence. My own feeling is that the advantages of this choice, which center around having a happier life and acquiring desirable qualities, are more compelling than its challenges.