In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Some countries are experiencing a rise in the average weight of their citizens and a decline in their overall health and fitness. The main causes for this problematic situation are people living a busy lifestyle and the increasing use of technology. This essay will elaborate on both these and finally present suggestions to combat the problem. One of the prime reasons for this precarious state is individuals acquiring hectic schedules in their routines. Due to this, they get no time for physical activity or healthy meal preparation, apparently leading to unhealthy eating habits and a lack of exercise. This can be particularly true for individuals who spend long working hours sitting at a desk in front of a screen, thereby acquiring health issues. For instance, according to a survey by a health blog, 80% of employees in IT companies suffer from obesity and diabetes kind of diseases because of their work culture. Another contributing factor leading to this questionable state of affairs is the extensive use of technology. Many types of technological devices such as smartphones, computers and televisions encourage sedentary behaviour. In addition to this, people spend extensive periods of time sitting or lying down while using these devices. Furthermore, they opt to use their own vehicles for transportation which leads to a declining amount of physical activity and weight gain. In order to deal with this uncertain condition, the following recommendations should be considered. Firstly, it is important to make physical activity a priority, even when time is limited. This can include taking the stairs instead of the elevator, walking and biking to work and scheduling time for exercise each week. Secondly, planning and preparing healthy meals in advance can help to ensure that busy individuals have access to healthy food options throughout the week. In conclusion, if the above-stated measures are seriously executed, the problem of the growing population of overweight people and lacking overall health awareness will certainly be eliminated.