The advantages of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The incremental influence of English in the world nowadays derived both positive and negative effects. Despite such trends could foster some drawbacks, including the extinction of minor languages, I personally highly agree that there are more pros than cons to making English a global language. On the downside, it could lead to the vanishing of local languages, since the number of young individuals in many regions who speak English as their first language is growing in size. For example, the majority of people in Africa mainly speak English as their first language. Such trends not only will cause the loss of diversity in languages, but descendants may not be able to inherit the culture carried in their mother tongue. On the other hand, there are various advantages derived from the growing popularity of English around the world. First of all, it enhances the efficiency of communication between different nations, which provokes the speed of globalisation. For example, many celebrities are in favour of writing articles in English to attract more readers around the world. Secondly, it could enhance the competitiveness of those countries, since their residents are able to make business internationally. For instance, the majority of Singaporeans speak English on a daily basis, which attracts those commercial institutions from Western countries to expand their business in Asia based in Singapore. To summarise, it is inevitable that the spread of English as a global language will continue in the future. Even though, there are some drawbacks derived from such trends, in my perspective, I strongly agree that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.