In the 21st century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The means of international and global communication became readily available with the advent of new technologies and transport, such as aeroplanes, mobile phones and chat applications. Although this development raised a few issues, I believe it has substantial benefits to offer to humanity. There are a few downsides to improved global communication and transportation technologies. One of the significant disadvantages is the addiction of society to various modern gadgets. Online chat and social network platforms have become indispensable parts of everyday life to the degree that people can not imagine life without them. This resulted in a wide range of social issues, such as worsened eyesight and lack of physical contact. Another issue caused by increased relationships between parts of the world is cultural loss. Increased levels of internationalisation provoked by accessible air travel leads to various tribes and societies getting mixed together. As a result, many national heritage and traditions are being faded away. However, there are numerous points to make in favour of improvements in global communication technologies. Emergency services became more efficient as a result of advancements in wireless contact. For example, news about potential tornados can be instantly translated through live TV, and people suffering from a heart stroke can immediately call an ambulance. Furthermore, the emergence of international businesses is mainly due to the advancements in air travel. With the increased volume of air traffic and affordable ticket prices, businessmen can arrange more frequent flights to other countries to make deals with foreign partners. Tourism also enjoys significantly more popularity compared to the past and pours in a substantial wealth to different countries worldwide. In conclusion, it is true that close international relationships, both in terms of transport and communication, causes some problems on cultural and social level. Yet, I would argue that global commerce and business developments bring enormous opportunities and benefits that cannot be neglected.