“Government should spend money on railway rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?”

There is no denying the fact that infrastructure plays a major role in the overall development of a nation. Huge railway connectivity showcases the development and picture of a modern country. Many believe that the government should spend more and more on railways, besides roads, however, in my perception roads play an equally important role in a democracy, therefore, I do not fully agree with this belief. To begin with, the merits associated with railway extensions, firstly, it makes long journeys convenient for travellers because of no traffic jams, moreover, connectivity becomes very easy between major cities. Secondly, this also plays a major role to manage the supply chain effectively and efficiently at the same time. For instance, heavy loads as well as huge consignments can be shipped easily and more swiftly from one destination to another. On the other hand, roadways are also very crucial in terms of supply chain and travelling, for example, road networks between villages and towns are very essential and the railway will not be able to do much. Mountains, in particular also are significant in terms of transporting people and goods, construction of concrete networks is far cheaper compared to rail lines. Therefore, spendings on roads can not be overlooked, although, most democracies around the world tend spend to equally on both forms of transportation, as per the world statistics report, furthermore, it is also generally done because of decreasing over-reliance on one specific mode of infrastructure. To sum up, without doubt, railways are key for a country to develop but the importance of the road networks can not be neglected. Thus, I believe that the government should give equal importance to both forms of this transportation and plan its spending accordingly.