It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifesytle in order to prevent ilness than to spend it on tretment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that spending public money on leading a healthy lifestyle is more crucial to prevent disease than spending it on medical treatment. I am partly in agreement with this view though more public funding should be invested in treating old people or individuals suffering from hereditary diseases. Proponents often argue the need for promoting public service advertisements to raise health awareness. Some effective ways for this are to promote healthcare education and make online content to provide information about the risks of unhealthy habits and the importance of eating balanced meals. Through these campaigns, people will practice including carbohydrates, grains, meat, and vegetables in their meals while halting smoking and drinking. Furthermore, more public money should be allocated for constructing eco-friendly parks and sports centres that offer various cheap programs. A salient example is Central Park in New York City where busy working people can increase their levels of fitness and relieve stress through walking or jogging or participating in yoga classes. Although the above-mentioned points are undoubtedly true, I believe it is more significant to invest in medical treatment. This is because all taxpayers deserve to receive national welfare systems including medical services. Coupled with this, there is little that we can do for hereditary diseases or illnesses that occur from the natural ageing process. Indeed, the majority of old people suffer from both minor and major diseases such as cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and others, while some young individuals find hospitals due to illnesses that run in the family. The government should therefore spend national budgets on developing surgical methods, medicines, and technologies.