Giving detailed information of crime in newspapers and on television has bad consequences. Some suggest that government should impose some restriction on them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, detailed information about crime exposed by newspapers and television can impact negatively the population. Some sectors of society believe that government should make some restrictions on this subject. I strongly agree with this suggestion, as consuming terrible news contributes to developing more worry and discontent. In this essay, I will explain in more detail the reasons that support my idea. To begin with, the "bad news " prominence is very common in every program, being actually more important than the positive ones. For instance, Argentina, my country, is currently facing a huge problem regarding safety, and people got used to it to consuming terrible bad news on television and in the newspaper. It is understandable that as a source of information, it is necessary to inform about reality, even if terrible things are happening. However, I disagree with the intensity and the focus in which they do it, highlighting the sinister things over the good ones; and when this happens, a sense of reality is being manipulated for these huge telecommunications industries. Additionally, it cannot be disputed that reading, watching or listening to bad news will make your day more miserable, as it is proved that this kind of information impacts negatively your humour, thoughts and emotions. One example of this was the attack of the twin towers in the United States in 2011, causing an incredible impact on the world population; the news was everywhere and all the time and many people suffered depression and panic attacks because of the fear they experienced being exposed to these terrible stories. In this case, it is clear that the energy of this kind of news is darker which can make you feel sad or angry, depending on the type of crime. In conclusion, I am confident with the idea that sharing bad news with the population in an excessive way is controversial for emotional health and affects directly a person's life balance. That is why governments should ban this by developing a restriction policy in charge of regulating the quantity and quality of this information.