Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What are the causes of this? What measures can be international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

With the increasing issues that are brought about by climate change, many people agree that it is enough to just take national precautions to control these environmental problems, while others believe that it is of paramount importance to deal with them on an international scale. I would argue that it is necessary to first control and adjust these issues on a national level because some countries have a bigger share in this matter than others. To begin with, environmental issues are affecting everyone over the world. However, in today's world, the existing solutions are mostly national or in collusion with several countries. For instance, the agreement made in Paris to reduce CO2 emissions in 2050, which a lot of countries in Europe and Africa are part of, is a good example of it. These countries started national-level actions and made plans to reduce CO2 in different sectors. For the Netherlands, it was important to adapt the housing built in the past to green energy sources, because the built environment is 40% responsible for these environmental problems. Moreover, the Netherlands made the parking costs much more expensive, pushing people to use other transport like trains. This is due to the big advantage of the environment that collective transport brings. Despite that, these national measurements have a good strategy that countries can decide where the solution should rise from, there are many people who would argue that global measurements are necessary. Due to the effect of global warming on an international scale, it may seem logical that small countries with varied solutions, will not be effective. Everyone working on the same plan,and the same rules will push countries that may not have any effects on these problems, to pay the costs of reversing it. For example, most countries in Africa. still live in a really sustainable way. The food, housing, and cars are in smaller amounts than in other small countries in Europe. The economic status of African regions is not too developed, and therefore not the ones that affected the environment negatively. Moreover, these countries may not have enough money to be part of the solutions. In contrast, these countries are usually the most suffering from the effects of these environmental problems. For instance, the flooding in Libya last year was due to climate change. However, the most pollutant countries are in Europe and America. Therefore I do believe that national rules are needed and the only possible way to correctly adjust the core of the problem. In conclusion, solving the environmental cause needs to be on a national scale, where each country takes responsibility for fixing the issue. The goal is global but needs more in small pieces resolved.