some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, some kids can mindlessly scroll through their smartphones for hours on a daily basis. This phenomenon is happening due to the lack of care from families. Overall, I firmly disagree with this contemporary habit as it has a degrading impact on children's ability to focus and social skills. To begin with, the main contributor to this issue is the parents' ignorance of their heirs. To illustrate, many working parents spend most of their time outside of the house, thus, over-rely on the babysitter's role to take care of their offspring. Hence, the easiest way to soothe toddlers is by introducing them to consuming content on smartphones. For instance, I often watch mothers giving out gadgets as a shortcut to calm their toddlers every time I eat out at a restaurant. This kind of negligence builds the children's overdependent behaviour to gadgets. From my point of view, this habit is destructive to the toddlers' development. Firstly, children will become addicted to the sudden endorphin rush gotten from entertainment and, consequently, weaken their concentration capability from such an early age. For example, my 5-year-old nephew found it hard to recall his own address because of his outrageous addiction to computer games. Moreover, kids will not be exploring avenues outside their comfort zone and making new friends that build their social intelligence. In conclusion, families play a monumental role in overcoming the issue of the era. As the drawbacks of playing smartphones have undeniably detrimental impacts on children, I strongly opine that this is a negative development. It would be nice if kids nowadays could also chase butterflies together with their pals like our generation used to enjoy in hindsight.