Many people have suggested that young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in their local community. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Some individuals are currently proposing a solution to solve problems in the local area. Having the youth do volunteer, unpaid work to help the people in need or just simply dedicate themselves to their neighbourhood. Although there are some drawbacks to this statement, the benefits that this can bring to the local community are undeniable. This essay will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of the statement. To begin with, there is a variety of advantages to this mandatory volunteer work. Firstly, it will help youngsters develop a sense of obligation and community. By helping out the people, whom they are familiar with, they will feel more thankful and personally connected with the neighbourhood. Secondly, through unpaid volunteer work, young people can significantly alleviate social problems and improve the quality of life in their local community. Youngsters nowadays are more open-minded and creative, which means when they channel these strong points into solving local problems, new solutions will arise. For instance, many have developed group chats on social media to create an exercise buddy program, encouraging people to do more physical activities. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages regarding this policy. The first drawback is that the volunteer work will be an interruption in their studies or their work. This can be seen easily in everyday life, pupils can forget knowledge learned after just a few months of not continuing their studies causing a gap year. Another drawback is that if this is mandatory, it can cause stress to the younger generation. For example, many already have multiple responsibilities to tend to, such as taking care of their sibling, working part-time jobs to increase their income, is able to reduce the financial burden on their families, or just struggle with their studies or find a profession. Because of the nature of volunteer work, they cannot get paid, so some of them tend to carry out the volunteer work in a careless way. Some may even publicly object to it, thinking that they are stripped of their freedom. In conclusion, it is undeniable that this policy can carry both advantages and disadvantages, for those who are in undeveloped areas, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. However, I think that if it is encouraged, it will generally bring more benefits than drawbacks.