Nowadays, sports is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, sport is an aspect that offers a large turnover for competent sports players and companies engaged in both financial and other ways. From my point of view, this phenomenon has both merits and demerits; however, its benefits overwhelm its drawbacks, which can be illustrated as follows. On the one hand, sports trigger some negative consequences. To begin with, the increasing incidence of crime and vice related to sports activities, such as gambling, is a noteworthy issue. Indeed, an imaginary prospect of the so-called “better life” will be inculcated in victims’ minds, making them jump on the bandwagon. As an example, my acquaintance engaged in an illegal casino, staking his fortune in his favourite football team. Sadly, he lost all of his possessions owing to the losing match and soon went out of business, which consequently made him a homeless person. On the other hand, I do reckon that there are more merits than demerits of making money from sports. First and foremost, it fosters the dream of being rich in young people. As an example, my brother was born and bred in a needy circumstance, which serves as a catalyst for his dream of being a good football player in order to help his family financially. Thanks to years of giving blood, sweat and tears, he finally fulfilled his aspiration of being a famous athlete and being able to lift his family out of poverty, giving his siblings a chance to go to school. Moreover, having a giant turnover coming from sports will enhance the country’s pride, image, prestige, voice and weight on the national and international stage. For example, Messi’s reputation of being one of the richest football players not only gives his motherland a sense of pride but also lifts the rank of Argentina up in the FIFA rankings. Furthermore, the town where Messi used to live became well-known, enabling it to attract more tourists, who are inquisitive about the hometown of the big short. In a nutshell, as aforementioned, I reconfirm that there are two merits and a demerit for making money from sports. Hence, the question posted here is about how to harness its strength and mitigate its weakness for a better future.