In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is common for young adults to stay with their family while attending university in some places, while a large number of students prefer to study at a university located differently from their homes. This essay will argue that the advantages of living away from home during university surpass the disadvantages in terms of promoting independence and improving social skills. One of the most marked benefits of students studying and living in a new city is the opportunity to develop independence, an essential quality for life and work, on a daily basis. Apart from their families, who have been providing care for them for a long time, young people will have to develop a strong sense of self-care and learn and obtain all the practical life skills, such as cooking and laundry, to ensure a well-functioning life. Research has shown that students who attend university in another city are more likely to achieve independence than their peers who live in their parents' homes. Moreover, university students can develop and hone their socializing skills by participating more in school social events. This is because living away from home means more time and energy will be saved for engaging in extracurricular activities. It is vital that young people are actively involved and engaged in different kinds of social activities to promote sociability. For example, being a member of the student union at the university has allowed me to develop better public speaking skills which are crucial for professionals. To conclude, studying and living in another city has notable benefits, among which cultivating independent young citizens with a high degree of sociability is the most significant one.