Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

With the rise of the global population, the demand for food is increasing. There are many reasons behind that and the international community can take many steps to fight against this crisis. The main reason for the high requirement is the rapidly growing population and increase in utilization. In addition, there is a limited number of lands available for agriculture, which is not enough to fulfil the requirement. Further, human resources have been shifted to service provision jobs from farming. These have contributed to a significant loss of production. Not only that, but also, crops are affected by certain diseases, which decrease both the quantity and quality of the crops. In addition to these factors, we can see a huge difference in supply between countries. Some of them are overloaded with production and are suffering from obesity, while others are suffering from malnutrition. Many countries are aware of this issue and making attempts to provide enough food supply to match the global requirement. With the advancement of technology, the agriculture industry could be upgraded. High-quality seeds, which can produce a huge harvest and tolerate diseases should be introduced. Machines must be introduced to reduce human labour. Technical expertise can be utilized to improve the harvest. Further, wastage should be minimized by introducing preservation methods. High-income settings can donate extra to low-income settings. In addition, we should encourage the public to grow plants in their home. In conclusion, it is clear that, though the demand for food is increasing, with proper coordination and actions, it can be managed.