In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years have witnessed a debate on the benefits and shortcomings of auto-driving vehicles, which are considered to be alternatives to traditional ones in the near future. While this trend poses a threat to some extent, I hold the belief that its contributions are far more significant. On the one hand, it is justifiable that the reliability of driverless means of transport is a big question mark. This is because traffic is a matter of complication with a variety of conditions, namely weather, infrastructure, and traffic flow. Hence, it will entail a high level of flexibility, which may be hard to find from auto engines, to have smooth traffic. In addition, transportation without drivers can result in a decline in employment opportunities to some extent. More specifically, if all vehicles become auto-driving, the occupation term "driver" will disappear. As a result, the unemployment rate will be increasing, to resolve which will require huge resources of investment. Nevertheless, I am all in favour of the idea that driverless transportation is of great significance in enhancing human life quality. To begin with, it helps people spend time on more meaningful activities. For instance, instead of sitting for hours and concentrating on driving, people can make use of this time to read a book, complete urgent tasks, or just relax after a long day. Furthermore, auto vehicles offer the disabled comfortable and independent travel, in which they do not require additional support from others. And most noticeably, driverless vehicles have a profound impact on mitigating driving offences and controlling traffic safety. Since they are all operated under advanced technology, traffic incidents involving human error such as overspeed, driving in drunk status, and regulation violations will be completely removed. To conclude, though the future of driverless exists some challenges, it is hard for me to see it asanything other than beneficial to people's life. I believe its huge contributions should be given more importance than its potential risks.