Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people argue that the reduction in the number or disappearance of species is the main environmental problem. In my opinion, however, there are more urgent environmental problems. On the one hand, there is a reason why some believe that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is the key environmental problem. This is because they play an important role in keeping ecosystems functional. When species are on the edge of extinction, their predators may be struggling to survive. This phenomenon affects badly the ecosystem. In addition, healthy ecosystems allow us to survive, get enough food to eat and make a living. Therefore, when species fall in number or disappear, ecosystems and people - especially the world's poorest - suffer On the other hand, there are so many more important environmental problems. Firstly, global warming is more pressing. The crisis of temperature is causing tropical storms, the other events such as flood, heat waves, and hurricane may wipe out a large number of animals and plants, and this has an adverse effect on annual crop yield. Another problem is air pollution which is a direct killer. In Europe, a recent report from the EU's environment agency shows that air pollution caused 400.000 annual deaths in the EU in 2022. Therefore, these environmental problems which affect directly human living should be prioritized In conclusion, although some people think that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is the most important environmental problem. I personally believe that global warming and air pollution are two more pressing environmental issues.