Some people believe that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or motorcycles. Others, however, argue that there are better ways to improve road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Road safety is one of the most contributing factors to annual accidents on highways all around the globe. There is a common belief that states the minimum age for driving should be increased in order to improve road safety, whereas there is an opposing view that holds the opinion that there are other driving factors that should be taken into account when overcoming this issue. In this essay, I will outline both views and elaborate on my opinion. Those who are of the opinion that the driving age should be reduced believe that youngsters tend to engage in more risky activities. Due to a lack of wisdom and maturity, younger ones are more likely to get drunk or use drugs before deciding to drive or even while driving for instance, which can lead to catastrophic accidents. This not only has enormous ramifications for the individuals involved in the accident but also will negatively impact the sense of security for other drivers. Supporters of the second view, however, feel that other measures can be taken by the government to increase road safety. First of all, road and transportation engineers can play a pivotal role in the maintenance of the roads. For example, the upper layer of the roads is mainly constructed of asphalt; since cracks in asphalt could massively deteriorate the quality of roads and hence, will result in unsafe roads, engineers could come up with techniques that could prevent the degradation process. Additionally, the government can also invest in building new roads as the older ones become out of order. Some of them date back more than five decades and even enhancements and retrofitting may not be effective in such cases. In conclusion, it is admittable that one of the complex issues nowadays is road safety. Despite the common belief that increasing the minimum driving age is the best alternative that can be done to improve road safety, I strongly feel that the government's in alleviating this matter are more substantial and cannot be overlooked.