Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

There are various positive impacts fostered by the number of internet users, who gain information from the virtual world instead of newspapers and TV, which are growing in size, including the incremental diversity of opinions, and a faster way of message delivery. Therefore, in my perspective, the advantages are overweight the disadvantages. First of all, one of the positive impacts of such trends is the incremental diversity of news sources, since the internet allows minorities to provide their perspectives, compared to traditional news sources, which control by a few powerful authorities. For instance, the younger generations are in favour of using Twitter for the acquisition of news based on its resilience in conveying individual opinions regarding the latest events as well as having discussions with people who have different cultural backgrounds. Secondly, there are other positive impacts for development derived from such trends as message delivery is more efficient on the Internet than newspaper and TV news programmes, since the censorship on the Internet is less strict than those traditional news providers. For example, individuals tend to look for the latest information on the internet when major incidents happened, such as natural catastrophes, including earthquakes and flooding. On the other hand, traditional media take longer time to deliver the same messages, since they need to verify the information as well as go through more strict censorship to ensure the reliability of those news sources. To summarise, it is inevitable that the popularity of reading news on the internet will continue to grow due to its convenience and more freedom for individuals to convey their opinions compared to traditional methods of gaining news, such as reading newspapers or watching TV news programmes. In my opinion, I tend to believe that the trends as such provoke more positive influence than drawbacks for development.