Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe.

There is a preponderance of evidence suggesting that by decreasing the level of accidents on city streets, some people believe that the best way to handle collisions is to mitigate the limit of speed. However, others think differently, saying that there are more contemporary solutions which need to focus on keeping safety for citizens. This essay attempts to debate both views and from my perspective, I side with the latter view. Admittedly, one might argue that proponents of lowering limits argue that if people decrease their speed while they are driving, it is possible for them to avoid accidents. In fact, there are thousands of people participating in transportation every day, so the occurrence of collisions between people is unavoidable. Nevertheless, individuals in this case who drive at in slow limit may have short injuries compared to others. This can be explained that lower speed gives drivers more time to react to unexpected situations, for example, pedestrians are crossing the road suddenly or people are driving out of sight. Therefore, they can control their speed easily, and it can help them stop driving immediately or cause the least damage for both drivers and others. Notwithstanding the aforementioned impacts, I believe the problem should be solved by other important factors, and one of them is the awareness of communities. Nowadays, people, especially young adults, tend to use smartphones while they are driving to listen to music or text with friends, and this leads to lots of risks because they are looking down at their phones, not the road. Additionally, using alcohol is another problem that may cause serious accidents on the street. In some countries such as VietNam and Thailand, it is very common when participants in traffic are intoxicated, and at that time they might over-control and cause accidents easily at any time. Both of these issues are related to people ’s cognizance and it can cause lots of significant accidents, even leading to death. Thus, raising awareness about road safety plays a crucial role in society, educating drivers about the rules of traffic and also the results of not complying with laws. In conclusion, despite the fact that lowering the speed limit may reduce the rate of accidental injuries because it helps people control their behaviour, many stick to their opinion that is still an urgent issue, relevant to people ’s awareness and should be tackled to ensure road safety for individuals.