Travellers and business people often come into contact with other cultures briefly. What are the main advantages and disadvantages of doing so?

In a globalized world, tourists and business people have often come into contact with other cultures shortly. There are numerous benefits and drawbacks that come with this. To start with, it is an opportunity for travellers and entrepreneurs to exchange their cultural values with the host country. This helps to promote their traditions to foreigners and therefore contributes to the development of the country. In particular, during the process of exchanging cultural values, foreigners might be curious about their country and they will visit sometime. Moreover, it does not require a lot of time to know about a culture briefly and many tourists and business people can be able to travel to multiple regions in a short period of time as well as have opportunities to experience different cultures. For example, they can visit Thailand for a few days and then come to Malaysia. On the other hand, due to the time limit, business people and travellers might not be able to fully adapt to or understand the new culture. Accordingly, misunderstandings and conflicts are likely to occur. For instance, travellers are not aware of certain rules and might accidentally violate those rules. Furthermore, for entrepreneurs trying to seek new markets, not being fully aware of the culture of the host country can cause many issues. Namely, some laws in the host country are different to their own country so not knowing it can be harmful as they might cross some of the guidelines and which cause failure and loss to the company. Overall, there are potential benefits as mentioned, such as exchanging cultural values, and not being time -consuming. However, there are some drawbacks like misunderstandings due to the time limit and lack of information might lead to failure.