Nowadays people depend on technology in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, more and more people spend their spare time using technological systems. In my opinion, I believe that this tendency has both positive and negative consequences in equal measures. On the one hand, the increase in using technology has some negative effects. Firstly, people may minimize their time for socializing or communicating with others. If a person allocates more time to utilising technology, he can separate himself from other people and prefer being alone, which is the main reason for being depressed. Secondly, they can get more illness about their mental health. For example, a game player who spends more than 3 hours each day playing video games may have a higher rate of becoming obese and some problems with their eyes. Thus, the average fitness score of humans can decrease gradually if more individuals have the same routine. On the other hand, technology brings many advantages to people in their daily life. The first benefit would be to bring more entertaining and relaxing hours for users. While there is lack of entertainment areas for citizens due to overpopulation and becoming busy with people's work and study, using up-to-date technological devices can help them to kill time and rise the proportion of happiness. For instance, instead of going to theatres at the weekends, people can watch their favourite movies at home through Netflix, which also can reduce their monthly expenses. Another beneficial aspect would be to acquire knowledge through technical systems. Many individuals have a common habit to use their smartphones, TVs and computers to gain news from the Internet in their spare time. Thus, this activity can make them become more knowledgeable and understand rising trends over the world via using their devices. In conclusion, while allocating free time to use technology has some drawbacks such as minimizing socialization and communication, and getting more diseases, this habit can bring some positive aspects like entertaining and acquiring more information.