Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent days, there are those who think that technological devices such as Smartphones and PC would generate an adverse impact on youngsters’ literal ability, although the tech developed a lot. I partially agree with this view and the reason will be elaborated in the enlisted paragraphs. Firstly, let us look at some advantages of the gadgets for juveniles’ writing and reading calibre. By utilizing a laptop or iPad, they can search for anything that they do not comprehend, and easily find the meaning of the vocabulary. For instance, in the past, students had to waste time finding words that they cannot remember from a paper dictionary, and it took massive hours. Nowadays, they just have to exploit Google, then they are able to spend time for other beneficial educational things instead of searching the vocabulary. However, perhaps this should not be the case. After all, students can use their time more than learners in the past, they cannot write and read difficult Kanji in Japan. This is because they just need to type the words, and can conduct copy and paste. According to the thesis done in 2020, 80% of adolescents who utilized PC to learn Kanji got worse scores on the Kanji test than individuals that studied by a textbook. In addition, children would not spend their time studying, though they acquire time from the technical evolvement because they are going to waste their period on their hobbies such as playing games or watching. Hence, mechanical progress produces harmful effects on young people. In conclusion, notwithstanding children obtain some benefits from devices, it would make some damaging results on their literacy. Therefore, I can slightly agree with this view.