It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

In recent eras, there has been an ongoing debate related to the modern education system where students are given an entire year once they finish school and before they are enrolled in a University. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this system. To begin with, this is the most popular concept in Western schools where students completing their high school get a year off, and due to this a number of drawbacks arise. The foremost disadvantage of this concept is that plenty of time gets wasted therefore the students finish their college graduation with a delay of one year, and for this reason, they might miss some great career opportunities. On the contrary Universities in Asian countries never accept the enrollment of a student if there is an academic gap, as the curriculum and education planners consider the " year off" concept unsafe for the career of students. For instance, an internal survey from an organisation reveals that the employees who got their graduation from an Asian university got ample opportunities and time to search for jobs whereas the professionals who took a gap after completing high school faced some difficulties in the job market once they got their university degree. However, this concept can be beneficial for students who are confused or unable to decide which career path or university course they should follow once they complete their high school. Having some time after high school can allow the students to make a decision without any hurry or influence. They can get to try different professions as an intern or taking up a casual job in an industry they are interested in. Moreover, they can plan or analyse the course options and universities around the globe, as having enough time will allow them to do their research and connect with the professionals who are already working in the industry they aspire as a future career. A prime example can be taken from a study conducted by a local news program where working professionals who took a year off after school and got exposure to different industries by doing internships and casual jobs were able to decide what course they wanted to enroll themselves and after graduation, they all successfully landed a job with no regrets of the choices they made in the past. To conclude, a year off is a great concept for students who are unsure about their interests or the field they want to work in, however, it can also lead to a waste of time which can indirectly affect the career of many students in a detrimental way.