Some people believe that certain old building should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think of the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that greater efforts should be made to preserve certain old buildings more than others. Personally, I believe that there are two types of buildings that need preservation and this approach has more merits. To begin with, it is essential to conserve buildings with significant cultural and historical value. These can include landmarks such as ancient temples, churches and castles which can be considered as evidence of a region’s rich history and cultural heritage. Preserving these buildings contributes to a sense of continuity and connection to the past, providing a window into the history and culture of a community. Additionally, buildings with unique architectural styles also should be preserved. These can be art deco buildings, Gothic-style churches and mansions. These buildings represent a pinnacle of designs and architecture of their representative eras and remind us of the evolution of the architectural style over time. It is true that the process of preservation is cost-consuming and requires a huge amount of federal budget which can be used better for other social issues like improving the educational facilities and solving the environmental problems. However, this approach is believed to bring numerous benefits to society. Firstly, preserving historical buildings maintains and transfers cultural value to the next generations, thus young people can have a deeper insight into their national cultural legacy which has been existing hundreds of years. To illustrate, Hue Citadel keeps all images and artefacts of the Nguyen Dynasty which allow visitors to have the most genuine experience about the life of the Royal Family and the traditional habits of Vietnamese people living in that era. Secondly, the preservation of buildings with special structures contributes to a sense of national identity. The main reason is that, in the modern age, high-rise towers are available everywhere and become a common feature around the world. As a result, old unique buildings will be a factor differentiating a certain country from others. For example, the pyramid is not only a world wonder but also a symbol and national pride of Egypt, reflecting the cultural value and prosperity of the ancient Egyptians. In conclusion, there are two types of buildings that need to be preserved, including cultural and historical buildings and buildings with unique architectural styles. While this approach is quite costly, it is believed to be beneficial to society in terms of retaining and transferring cultural value to future generations and enhancing the national identity.