People living in the twenty first century generally have a better quality of life than people who lived in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern world, access to digital devices, transportation and diverse types of food play an essential role in people's lives compared to the past. Some argue that due to this great variety of options in different fields, current time is the best for living, while others oppose this statement. I also disagree with the former statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, with an increasing number of vehicles on roads the air has become polluted. Additionally, excessive use of personal cars creates heavy traffic making drivers stressed and angry. For example, in previous years, it was very uncommon to have more than one car per family, while these days, only one individual can possess even two vehicles, such as cars, motorbikes or vans. As a result, before, the environment used to be cleaner along with less stressful situations on roads compared to the current time. Furthermore, technological devices promoted a broad range of games, movies, and other activities for entertainment purposes, which were not available in the previous time. Consequently, some individuals, especially young ones, prioritise virtual life with online communication over outdoor play and real interactions. In addition to that, a variety of options on the food market makes some consumers purchase more items than they really need which might be unhealthy and dangerous. For instance, new ingredients and food products are introduced to Americans every year prompting health concerns connected to certain diseases like obesity. In conclusion, even though the current era offers an amazing selection of products and services, I believe that the life before was healthier and more interesting. In the past, the planet was less polluted, people emphasised real communication participating more in cooking and physical activities. The balanced approach for utilising modern services needs to be applied to stay satisfied and healthy.