Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign languages is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country.Others say that tese are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Learning a foreign language has recently become a demanding ability for individuals, especially for those who like to travel or must work abroad. In my opinion, idioms are not only important for such situations, as people can successfully improve other skills from them. First, we should not completely disregard their importance for tourists and business. However, practicing a new language is the easiest manner to have contact with another culture. First and foremost, in the widely globalized world we live today, where people can easily and quickly move from a country to another, communication should not be a barrier. Therefore, knowing an extra language has been facilitating both tourism, which requires outstanding relationship skills with foreigners, and mainly business activities. For example, a friend of mine lost an unbelievable job opportunity because the employer had realized that he did not speak English at all. To summarize, idioms are an essential tool for the development of tourism and business, although, individuals can go further with them. The first characteristic of a country is the language, which holds its identity and connects the past to the present time. In other words, the idiom of a certain places is an incredible source of knowledge for those who are interested into the historical elements hidden behind the language. For instance, by learning Latin, it is possible to understand a connection between different countries such as Portugal, Spain and France, whose languages evolved from Latin. Thus, if people had learned new languages for other reasons rather than tourism and business, they would have developed their historical skills. In conclusion, trusting that a foreign language is only useful for travelling and working abroad is a serious misconception. Even though idioms can facilitate the communication between foreigners, they are the best source for cultural background.