Some people think that traditional education is better than online education.To what extent do you agree or dissagree?

With the digitisation of this era, technology is getting more advanced and this is having a major impact in the education sector. Recently, education is gradually transforming from conventional ways to conducting online classes. In this essay, I am going to explain the reasons why I insist that traditional teaching methods are superior to online teaching. Firstly, I believe that being physically present in the classroom can allow the students to be more attentive in lessons. In online classes, students are not being monitored constantly by the teacher and there are also too many distractions around the learner that could divert their attention. For example, the sound of a notification or their gaming devices lying around in their vision might be too tempting for them, as students do not have strong self-discipline ability. These distractions can be eliminated by being in the classroom, as a healthy, learning environment is set in place to optimise the focus duration of the pupils. Therefore, traditional education has an edge relative to online education in terms of creating a supportive learning atmosphere. Secondly, conventional education heavily involves conducting face-to-face group discussions, and actively taking part in outdoor curriculum activities. This is entirely impossible with online education as students would just stare at their screen the whole day. For example, in traditional education, presentations have to be done in front of the entire class and this is an opportunity for learners to build up public speaking ability and confidence, whereas in online classes, presentations are often uninteractive and boring. Moreover, students can play sports with each other on campus if they are present at school, which is not only good for building relationships but also healthy for the body. Therefore, traditional education provides a more complete and interesting learning experience. In conclusion, I support the notion that conventional education is better than online education as it provides a more comprehensive, holistic and memorable learning experience, by providing an encouraging studying environment and platform to enhance soft skills.