It is said that travel broadens the mind. What can we learn by travelling to other countries? Should we first explore our own countries? What do you think?

Travelling is generally considered a means to open one's vision and broaden their mind due to the numerous benefits it can bring to travellers. This essay will discuss how travelling abroad is advantageous in enhancing one's cognitive ability and the merits of making domestic trips before travelling internationally. To begin with, travelling to other countries is advantageous to one's being open-minded when people are exposed to new language and culture environments. Language is a set up of symbols shared among a group of people, and they consist of different cultures. The way people think, speak, and behave is subjected to the language and culture agreed within their community. Thus, travelling abroad is an ideal way to get rid of their old environment and immerse in new ones where they are given the opportunity to absorb new ways of thinking and be more open-minded. Before going to other countries, it is suggested to explore one's own country first for a deep and solid understanding of their own background, which would better prepare travellers to learn new knowledge when they are abroad. Cultural diversity exists not only across countries but also between cities and regions within one state. Stepping out of one's own city and making trips to other places is a preparation for exploring the bigger world outside. The domestic journey will broaden one's vision and open their mind in a moderate way so that holidaymakers are not likely to undergo culture shock excessively. Meanwhile, it would expand their repertoire of skills and abilities which are beneficial for trips to other countries later. To conclude, international travel is beneficial in enhancing tourists' thinking ability and helping them to become more broad-minded. To make full of this experience, travellers are recommended to make a domestic journey prior to going abroad as this would prepare them to be ready for the experience of exotic languages and cultures.