Many children are encouraged to do part time work by parents? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, many offspring are motivated by their guardians to do part-time jobs so that they can be self-reliant and learn new things. In this essay, we will elucidate the advantages and disadvantages of this development. To commence, the benefits that children gain from working are financial independence and the development of skills. To explain, when youngsters work, they are able to manage their expenses and become economically stable to fulfil their wants. It also creates a less monetary burden on the parents as children can save their earnings for the future. Furthermore, when adolescents step out into the outer world they develop and learn new skills which make them confident. It also boosts their social and problem-solving abilities as they face novel challenges on a daily basis. To exemplify, a child can save up their income for any recreational activity that they want to pursue. Thus, the above example vividly illustrates the pros of this development. On the flip side, a child might have to face some hurdles while working such as lagging behind in academics and maintaining a work -life balance. To explicate, the time they devote to their work would reduce their study time and they could get lower grades in school which would affect their self-esteem. Moreover, it could get complicated for them to manage their work -life balance as coping with school, family and work could get stressful for them at such a tender age. For example, studies show that people who multi-task reported high anxiety levels than individuals who focussed on one thing at a time. Hence, the aforementioned reason substantiates the shortcomings of youngsters who work part-time. To recapitulate, working part-time can benefit a child in becoming independent and improving their social and cognitive skills. However, they might encounter complications in their academics and also find it difficult to cope with their lifestyle.