Some people claim that goverments should be responsible for taking care of the essential needs of the elderly, while others argue that it should be the elderly that should do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst some suggest that it is the obligation of governments to look after the elderly public, others believe it is the individuals that need to have a plan for later life. In my perspective, I believe both governments and individuals should put an effort to create a good living environment for the old population. To begin with, compared to individuals, governments have the power to provide a systematic system to ensure a quality life for residents in old age, such as the compulsory retirement fund, which ensures a consistent income resource. On top of that, medical treatment for chronic diseases which cause big financial burdens could be reduced for elderly communities or those in need by lawmaking. For example, in Singapore, the authorities will withdraw a certain amount of money from the salary of their residents and save it as part of their pension, at the same time, they will add the corresponding amount of money into the same account, which could be used by the party after their retirements. On the other hand, young people should not completely depend on politics to look after them when they ageing since it could put them in a vulnerable situation in financial. Having a saving plan at an early age is essential to not only fostering cosy life after retirement, but enabling them to tackle problems when encountering unwanted situations, such as serious illness or big accidents. For example, purchasing insurance could be a good way to release financial stress when unwanted situations come up. To summarise, it is true that ensuring a decent life for elderly residents is the responsibility of correlative departments, however, the importance for individuals to have a healthy financial state should not be overlooked. Therefore, I believe both elderly people and authorities are responsible for better retirement life in societies.