Successful companies use advertisements to make more sales. What can make an advertisement effective? Do you think advertisemnts are a bad thing or a good thing for the society?

Adverts are the medium to attract more consumers as they tremendously boost sales. These have a great influence on the viewers as it continuously supports consumerism. However, I believe that there are more adverse effects on our community despite the few positive impacts it creates on the folk. Television commercials usually play a paramount role in brainstorming the viewers in many ways. Firstly, most companies prefer famous models to promote their products in order to create an image of power and luxury. For instance, a renowned singer named Rihanna acted in a perfume advertisement which eventually represented the expensive cologne as a luxe product thus, people spent more in order to smell like the celebrities. Secondly, an effective advertisement can be created by representing a real bargain for the consumers. As a result, the public will compare the price before making a choice. Undoubtedly, advertisements can make an influence by using the name and fame of celebrities also, these can reflect the price comparisons so that people could make informed decisions. According to my point of view, these have a negative impact on the community as it promotes products or services which is not even required. For example, the plastic sealable bag was being promoted as if could remove fat from food and enrich them with nutrients and vitamins. In the real world, this is not possible and it is fraudulent. Moreover, children can easily get lured by the things they watch on television while they can pester their parents to buy something useless. Certainly, this sort of marketing is not only cheap but also plays with the individual's mindset by selling fake things. To conclude, the adverts are a great way to showcase the product in order to elevate its sale which could be done through either celebrities or providing the buyers with real comparisons. But, there is some harm it is doing to society by increasing consumerism as well as by trying to sell something which is not genuine.