‘Prevention is better than cure’. Researching and treating disease is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is said that it is better to prevent a health problem rather than try to care for it after infection because the process of curing is required a considerable amount of money. Admittedly, I completely agree with the statement given due to reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, there are many diseases which can be easily prevented by diverting a small portion of the government's health budget to precautionary measures. That is, if authorities subsidize some products or activities, many fatal may decrease significantly. Take obesity which is the root cause of many deadly diseases for example; by helping individuals to afford gym membership, the government can easily decline the cost of hospitalized people who suffer from heart problems. Another justifiable reason for putting government fund into a scheme that improves society's overall health is that facing serious health problem not only put a burden on society's shoulder but is also harmful to human capital. For instance, a teacher or an engineer is a valuable asset to society. For many years, the money of taxpayers has gone to the education of such civilians. The probable death of these important employees as a result of cancer, which can be prevented by using a healthy diet, means wasting a considerable amount of budget. In conclusion, it is true that it is better to try to establish a healthy society instead of increasing government expenditure for hospital treatment. That is because precaution is not costly, and it saves human capital.