Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that zoos must not exist because it is not fair and they have to be free and not in the cage. Others believe that zoos play a significant role in keeping them and giving shelter to wild animals. I believe that keeping animals in zoos are not necessary. On the one hand, zoos have been always good places for human entertainment but nowadays, due to the advent of the internet, people can easily follow many kinds of animals on the internet and TV shows where animals in freedom in their own habitats. So, in fact, it is possible to find out about different animals without the necessity to go to a place to see animals suffering from unsuitable conditions. In Iran, there was a rare tiger which died last year in bad condition and a cage was not enough to keep the tiger healthy and welfare. In my opinion, these kinds of animals should not stay enclosed in zoos in the middle of the cities. On the other hand, zoos could be used to keep endangered animals, protect them and reproduce them. However, I think there are other ways to protect them from hunters like protecting natural habitats. In Argentina, there are two projects to save wild animals where biologists and veterinarians work together to protect a special kind of animal instead of keeping them in man-made places. In conclusion, zoos are cruel and used as human entertainment, however, they are extremely useful if they are used for reproduction and as a refuge for animals in danger.