As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems.

With the upsurge in the number of tourists and international passengers, the rate people book flights nowadays is increasing by the day. The negative effects of this on the environment are enormous. For instance, pollution of air due to emissions of fumes by aircraft. Also, the construction of more airports to meet the demand of passengers. However, manufacturing electric aeroplanes and encouraging voyages by sea can be parts of the solution to this menace. To begin with, many holiday-makers especially from other countries usually travel by air to their destinations which put pressure on the airlines to make reservations for them. For instance, tourists from all walks of life visit Osun state in the southwestern part of Nigeria during a cultural celebration called the "Osun"festival, this will definitely increase the number of travellers for airlines and invariably make them acquire more aircraft with subsequent emissions of toxic gases into the atmosphere causing pollution of the environment. Furthermore, more airports will be needed to meet the increasing demand of international travellers. This will amount to clearing hectares of farmland to give way to it and devastating effects of loss of farm produces and job to the farmers. In addition, there are occasions when air mishaps happen leading to the loss of lives of persons on board and the burning of the surrounding where it happened. A good example was the Sosoliso crash that happened in 2012 near a town in River State southern part of Nigeria that claimed the lives of persons on board safe for a survivor with severe burns and the entire area used for farming was destroyed. However, there are a number of things that can be considered to prevent some of these challenges. Firstly, aeronautical engineering companies should be encouraged or advised to build solar aircraft to replace the current ones using gasoline engines. Secondly, governments should encourage people to embrace journeys by sea to lessen the burden on airline operators. In conclusion, increasing demand for international flights and its potential effects on the surroundings like pollution of the atmosphere but building of electric or solar aeroplanes to replace the existing ones powered by fuel will be a permanent solution to some of the problems.