It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Some people predicted that the public in the 21st century would have much more free occasions than in the past. I personally think that the prediction of people having more free time in the 21st century has come true accurately. There are, I admit, reasons for supporting that people in the 21st century have been much busier than in the past, and an obvious one is advancements in science and technology, particularly in healthcare. It led to decreased mortality rates and increased population. As a result, social competition has intensified, and individuals must work harder to avoid being replaced by society. Nonetheless, I feel, the downsides are more persuasive. Firstly, technological innovations make people ’s offices efficient, so that they have more time to relax. For example, many search software makes people find the information they need quickly and easily. Secondly, technology can improve the efficiency of daily tasks. For instance, household equipment such as washing machines and dishwashers reduce the time spent on housework. In addition, online courses and educational resources make it easy for individuals to gain new knowledge. Therefore, this can help the public to study anytime and anywhere, saving commuting time to after-school classes. In conclusion, while there are various reasons why people may be busier in the 21st century, advancements in science and technology have indeed provided individuals with more free time for self-improvement and relaxation.