Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Investing in the public transport system and reducing public transport ticket fares are effective methods to reduce a significant amount of transport pollution. I strongly agree with these approaches for two main reasons: they encourage more passengers from underserved areas and those facing financial barriers. The government's policy to invest in public transportation will increase the number of people using it. Such investments include expanding transportation routes to cover more regions and revamping the facilities and services. If implemented, these improvements will encourage not only individuals from satellite cities—who usually rely on personal cars—to use public transportation, but also those who previously considered it uncomfortable or unsafe. For example, in 2011, Indonesia’s Ministry of Transportation introduced a policy to reconstruct and renovate all railway lines in Jakarta to match the quality of Japan’s. In the same year, many workers from suburban areas shifted from using personal cars to public transport, leading to a decline in pollution, especially during rush hours. Furthermore, reducing ticket fares will attract more people to use public transportation. This is primarily because commuting is part of daily life, and 10% to 50% of people ’s income may go toward transport costs. Affordable fares set by the government will make people consider that they can save more by using public transportation instead of their private vehicles. For example, in 2024, the Jakarta Governor implemented a program to subsidise ticket fares for mass rapid transit (MRT), resulting in an increase in MRT ridership and a decline in private car use. In conclusion, I agree that investing in public transport facilities and subsidising ticket fares can significantly reduce pollution, as these measures help attract people with limited transportation access and financial resources to use public transport.