In many societies, there is less social contact between the elderly and the young. What are the reasons and what measures can be taken?

The relationship between old and young is currently at a lower level in a number of societies. Therefore, This has become a social issue in many regions. In my opinion, It is high time to identify the causes and necessary measures must be taken to mitigate this phenomenon. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons such as the generation gap and attitude and measures; social gatherings, and right parenting to eradicate this problem. First, The primary cause of this distance in social contact between these two generations of people is due to the generation gap. For instance, Young pupils generally prefer a more contemporary lifestyle whereas the elderly are more conventional in their daily lives. Additionally, the attitude and lack of empathy between them is another major factor. For example, According to a study by the University of British Colombia, The gradual changes in behaviour and a few other factors has created a substantial distance between the old and younger generation. On the other hand, The primary issue can be mitigated by creating awarenesses between these two generations and they should be taught about each others' culture as well. One of the ways it can be implemented is by arranging regular gatherings where they can speak on various topics. In addition, Parents should be really cautious while nurturing their children and teach them how to be empathetic towards older people. To sum up, The reasons like generation gap and lack of empathy can be eradicated with proper measures such as arranging social meetups and right teaching in childhood. As far as I am concerned, I am convinced that if we take the actions as I have mentioned in this writing we can reduce this social distance.